The Searchlight Series

The Searchlight Series

Eastern State Penitentiary Presents
The Searchlight Series:
Conversations About Crime, Justice, and the American Prison System

 

Eastern State Penitentiary Historic Site partners with nationally recognized penologists and educators to present an ongoing discussion series about crime, justice, and the American prison system. The Searchlight Series discussions take place the first Tuesday of every month, free and open to the public. No reservations required. The 2015 schedule is as follows:

Tuesday, January 6
Tuesday, February 3
Tuesday, March 3
Tuesday, April 7
Tuesday, May 5
Tuesday, June 2
Tuesday, July 7
Tuesday, August 4
Tuesday, September 1
Tuesday, October 6
Tuesday, November 3
Tuesday, December 1

Discussion topics and speakers listed below. (Some topics TBA.) Click here for a list of last year's discussions.

 

Betty Jean Thompson: The Impact of Incarceration Upon Families and Communities

Betty Jean ThompsonTuesday, January 6, 6:00 - 7:00 pm
Free. No reservations required.

The mother of a formerly incarcerated man, Ms. Thompson will use excerpts from her book A Small Candlelight to explore the impact of mass incarceration on communities.

She will discuss “realistic healing approaches” to help incarcerated and formerly incarcerated individuals, their families, and their communities to “minimize the oppressive nature of Incarceration.”