The Searchlight Series

The Searchlight Series

Eastern State Penitentiary Presents
The Searchlight Series:
Conversations About Crime, Justice, and the American Prison System


Eastern State Penitentiary Historic Site partners with nationally recognized penologists and educators to present an ongoing discussion series about crime, justice, and the American prison system. The Searchlight Series discussions take place the first Tuesday of every month, free and open to the public. No reservations required. The 2016 schedule is as follows:

Tuesday, January 5
Tuesday, February 2
Tuesday, March 1
Tuesday, April 5
Tuesday, May 3
Tuesday, June 7
Tuesday, July 5
Tuesday, August 2
Tuesday, September 6
Tuesday, October 4
Tuesday, November 1
Tuesday, December 16

Discussion topics and speakers listed below. (Some topics TBA.) Click here for a list of last year's discussions.


Jamira Burley: Criminal Justice Reform: Speaking from Personal Experience

Tuesday, January 5, 6:00 - 7:00 pm
Free. No reservations required.

Jamira BurleyAfter the repeat incarceration of both of her parents and all ten of her older brothers, Jamira Burley became a champion for community engagement and criminal justice reform. Ms. Burley is a 2015 Leading With Conviction advocate at JustLeadershipUSA, which empowers people most affected by incarceration to drive policy reform.

Jamira Burley works for Amnesty International USA on issues of gun violence and criminal justice. She previously served as the Executive Director for the city of Philadelphia Youth Commission, where she was honored by the White House as a Champion of Change.