Skip to main content

Purchase Tickets

Collaboratory for Justice Education

The Collaboratory for Justice Education at Eastern State Penitentiary Historic Site is a dynamic community of dedicated and enthusiastic people with a shared passion for justice education committed to generating innovative solutions for understanding intricate societal issues.

Members of the Collaboratory contribute to creating impactful tools tailored for educators and students nationwide. These tools serve as instruments of change within classrooms, striving to influence our nation's understanding of justice and the construction of an equitable justice system.

The mission of the Collaboratory also extends beyond the traditional education realm, reaching into the corridors of the justice system and resonating within the hearts of our communities. Through its collective efforts, Collaboratory for Justice Education is a beacon of hope and inspiration, illuminating the path toward a fair and just America.

“History, despite its wrenching pain, cannot be unlived, but if faced with courage, need not be lived again.” – Maya Angelou

Members of Eastern State's #JusticeEdCollab are committed to the transformative power of education as a catalyst for change, empowering future generations with the knowledge and values necessary to navigate the complexities of justice, and contributing to the evolution of a more just and fair society.

Does this sound like you? The Collaboratory is not currently accepting new members; however, we invite you to sign up below to receive emails about future application cycles and other opportunities for educators.



Current Collaboratory Members:

  • Eileen M. Ahlin, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Criminal Justice, School of Public Affairs, Penn State Harrisburg, Middletown, PA.
  • CherylAnne Amendola, Middle School History Department Chair, Montclair Kimberley Academy, Montclair, NJ.
  • Dr. Ashley M. Appleby, Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice, Endicott College, Beverly, MA.
  • Kim Barben, Educator, Great Valley High School, Malvern, PA.
  • Erin Bernard, Executive Director, The Bridge Way School, Pennsylvania's first and only recovery high school serving youth in recovery from substance use and co-occurring mental health disorders.
  • Natalie Ciervo, Vice Principal, Camden Academy Charter High School, Camden, NJ.
  • Ryan Codine
  • Charles P. Cunha Ph.D., Adjunct Lecturer, Cal State University – Fullerton, Fullerton, CA.
  • Serge Danielson-Francois, Educator, Academy of the Sacred Heart, Bloomfield Hills, MI.
  • Kevin-Paul Edwards, Educator, The School District of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA.
  • Sheila Edwards, Educator, Sierra Vista Middle School, Covina, CA.
  • Trish Everett, Educational Designer & Instructional Coach, i-Tech for Schools, South Florida Division.
  • Thomas Fulbright, Educator, Hope Street Academy, Topeka, KS.
  • Erica Golle, Educator, Bergen County Technical School, Teterboro Campus, Teterboro, NJ.
  • Dr. David C. Hayes, Educator, Screenwriter and Novelist, Howell, MI.
  • Amy Hufnagel, Assistant Director, Sing Sing Prison Museum, Ossining, NY.
  • Kevin Jackson, Educator, Petaluma High School, Petaluma, CA.
  • Brittni Jennings, Educator, The School District of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA.
  • Dr. Robyn Kelso, Coordinator, Kansas State Department of Education.
  • Jennifer Luneau, Educator, The School District of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA.
  • Lois MacMillan, Educator, Grants Pass High School, Grants Pass, OR.
  • Laura McFarren, Educator, Derby North Middle School, Derby, KS.
  • Hilary D. Moore, J.D., Esq., Adjunct Professor of Criminology and Criminal Justice, Eastern Mennonite University, Harrisonburg, VA.
  • Etta Faye Morgan, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Criminal Justice and Sociology, Jackson State University, Jackson, MS.
  • Samuel North, Educator, Ossining Union Free School District, Ossining, NY.
  • Amy Palo, Educator, Cornell High School, Coraopolis, PA.
  • Dr. Paige Reed (they/them), Program Director and Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice, Mary Baldwin University, Staunton, VA.
  • Jill Reichman
  • Christine Tartaro, Distinguished Professor of Criminal Justice, Stockton University, Galloway, NJ.
  • Dr. Mecca K. Terry, Lecturer, University of North Carolina at Pembroke, Pembroke, NC.
  • Megan Thompson, Educator, Osseo Senior High School, Osseo, MN.
  • Gabriel Valdez, K-12 Instructional Coach, Fort Worth Independent School District, Fort Worth, TX.
  • Dina Violante, Educator, Union County Vocational-Technical Schools, Scotch Plains, NJ.
  • Ryan Werenka, Educator, Troy High School, Troy, MI.
  • Jennifer Welch
  • Dustin Widener
  • Sue Witmer, Educator, Northeastern Senior High School, Manchester, PA.
2017 American Aliance of Museums Excellence in Exhibitions Overall Winner